14/11/2016 | Distortion Photography

If you want something you’ve never had, then you have to do something you’ve never done” – Unknown

Todays lesson with Colin was very strange and he’s certainly showed us another dimension of photography to challenge our creative and peculiar sides. In this lesson we concentrated on distortion photography and trying to capture some portrait images where the model has transformed to look nothing like their normal selves. My model today was Isabella and for us our try with distortion photography was very much trial and error. We were given one flash and a distorting mirror and were very much free spirited in order to get the weirdest outcomes. At first my settings were on flash with low ISO, 1/60, f8 and the mirror was vertical. These outcomes were good however the creases in the mirror were not exactly in my favour. They were taking a lot of space and were not distorting my model enough therefore we did a little change of scenery. Plus I decided to change my lighting to florescent to give the image more of a glow.

Again the images above are my outcome and I am very pleased with them. They are very different to what a ‘normal’ portrait is and it has stimulated a style that I am looking forward to trying. Especially after researching Erik Johanssons work and surrealism. All these ideas are intertwining and I’m looking forward to the day a idea comes to mind.

Furthermore I have started creating a Pinterest ideas page giving myself a constant reminder and inspiration for future ideas and clients. Check it out by clicking :

To be continued… :)(:

Leave a Reply

