John Wilhelm

“I love bringing my fantasy to life with the help of my own images, Photoshop and 3D Software. Due to the fact that it’s more an obsession than plain passion I call myself a photoholic” – John Wilhelm 

screen-shot-2016-11-14-at-22-33-21

 

John Wilhelm is a part time Photographer / IT Director /  Father / funny guy living in Switzerland.  He is very passionate about photography and digital art and enjoys nothing more than including his girlfriend and three daughters into his funny family friendly images.

( http://www.johnwilhelm.ch &

https://www.facebook.com/johnwilhelmisaphotoholic/ )

I had first discovered Johns work after watching the video above shared by COOPH (Cooperative of Photography). It was a visual “interview” with John Wilhelm which smartly got viewers to imagine what his answers would be. From the little information shared online I do know that John isn’t a full time photographer like other successful artists. Although he mentioned the difficulty of having three daughters he is also an IT director at a Swiss University. Therefore his working philosophies are a little different to others. John has been surrounded with photography all his life, with his father being a keen photographer and him continuing his passion later on in his life. From the video I can see that a lot of, if not all of his work includes his family. It seems that he does photography to develop himself and his knowledge on photoshop but to also come closer and make memories with his young daughters. I can imagine it would be wonderful for them to look back on the images when they are a little older and know that they had a really cool dad.

Johns trademark style is funny, “surrealistic”, manipulated photographs of his family. It seems like a lot of his inspiration is crazy ideas, thoughts or memories he once had as a child. It could also be that his children are a great inspirations to his work because they too have a wonderful imaginations which would definitely help John when thinking of ideas for future images.

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 23.18.40

Above are some of Johns images that I am very fond of. His creativity and style is great and is defiantly something I’d love to attempt since I too consider myself quite a comedian 😉 All jokes aside from looking at and admiring a lot of Johns work I can see that he puts a lot of time and effort in planning and editing his images. His style reminds me of caricatures that an artist would draw on the street and the imagination of his work is far too advance for me to ever imagine. However to create funny images with family and friends is something that I will certainly consider doing. Already looking forwards to it. Thank you for reading. To be continued… :)(:

Remember as far as anyone knows you guys are a normal family” – Me 

Leave a Reply

